Ellerbeck House Bed and Breakfast

Ellerbeck House
Higher Westhouse
Lancs LA6 3NH
015242 41872

Read what Alastair Sawday writes about Ellerbeck House here »

Surrounding Area

WALKS

The challenging 3 peaks walk one of the oldest established walks in the UK comprising Pen-y-ghent, Whernside and Ingleborough, 23.5miles in total. www.thethreepeakschallenge.co.uk

For other beautiful local walks see www.daleswalks.co.uk

GEOGRAPHICAL LANDMARKS

The wonderful caves and incredible waterfalls of Ingleton www.ingleton.co.uk

Take in the views and scenery of Malham Tarn and moors owned by the National Trust. www.nationaltrust.org.uk/malhamtarn

DAYS OUT

Discover Skipton Castle a complete medieval fortress www.skiptoncastle.co.uk

Visit Bolton Abbey with its priory, nature trails and fishing www.boltonabbey.com

The town of Settle with its famous Settle-Carlisle railway saved from closure by Michael Portillo with its 72 miles

of track taking in some of the most striking scenery of the North www.settle-carlisle.co.uk

Dent the highest mainline station in England 1150 feet above sea level www.dentstation.co.uk

HOUSES AND GARDENS

Holker Hall, Nr. Cartmel. Famous for its spectactular garden festival www.holker.co.uk

Levens Hall an Elizabethan Manor House with topiary gardens near Kendal www.levenshall.co.uk

VISITING ARTISTS

Abbot Hall Art Gallery, Kendal one of the best galleries outside London www.abbothall.org.uk

Jack Beck House in the Yorkshire Dales for painting courses www.jackbeck.co.uk

Bentham Pottery - pottery courses 9am-5pm Monday to Saturday www.benthampottery.com

LOCAL PLACES OF INTEREST

The Lakes www.lakedistrict.gov.uk

Historical Town of Kirkby Lonsdale www.kirkbylonsdale.co.uk

City of Lancaster www.citycoastcountryside.co.uk

LOCAL CAFES AND PUBS

There are many restaurants in the area which can be recommended during your stay.

Just along the A65 www.country-harvest.co.uk for cakes coffees presents and much more.

A local pub highly recommended for delicious homemade food and great atmosphere www.thelunesdale.co.uk
(Closed on Mondays)

Delicious homemade pizzas ‘La Tavernetta’ 23 Main Street, Ingleton Tel: 015242 42465.